Is there an objectively best power source?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Shakie666

Jul 29, 2019
Thanks to power converters, we can directly compare power sources that don't produce the same type of energy. For example, a fusion reactor produces about 13482 mj/t with a power converter - pretty much 94 times as much as a 36hp boiler. Not that that's very helpful since you have to take into account the startup costs, running costs, space required... as well as a few others I haven't thought of. Would it be helpful to compile a list of power sources, in order of how good they are? I can think of a few obvious ones: thermal generators are superior to geothermals since they produce 20% more power for a given amount of lava, with not-much-higher startup costs. But there's a lot of stuff I've never used before, as well as some things that won't have crossed my mind... perhaps you guys could help? :)

PonyKuu

Jul 29, 2019
Converters are not the way to compare. PowerCrystals has his own view on conversion ratios, so if one made other converters, relative efficiency would change.

Shakie666

Jul 29, 2019
Converters are not the way to compare. PowerCrystals has his own view on conversion ratios, so if one made other converters, relative efficiency would change.
Oh. I never knew that. Well, at the very least, would it be worth trying to compare power supplies for the same power type?

Poppycocks

Jul 29, 2019
You know, the nicest thing about this modpack is that it doesn't even matter - that much. Sure if you gimp yourself with only using extremely inefficient power producers then you're probably going to have a bad time, But in all honesty, all you ever need to do is...

Build more.

I'm slowly also starting to realize that the only currency in this game is Time. There is nothing else.