How to stop mobs from spawning in your house?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Scghost

Jul 29, 2019
Hey guys, I'm still learning stuff about minecraft so i might have missed something when i builded my base. It is at the to of a mountain with more then half of it kind of hanging to the side in the air. Made with coblestone, i have doors, trap door, proper lighting set and everything is covered. I have my bed next to the wall and even made a wall in the base just in case it was too big. So why do i still get spawns in my base? I wouldnt care much since i can easily take care of one. But sometimes i get one of those exploding ones and its bye bye whatever equipment there is nearby : /. So does anyone know how i can fix this? Thx.

Stanekk

Jul 29, 2019
What pressure plates you got? Only safe ones are obsidian. The others can be triggered by mobs

Bagman817

Jul 29, 2019
If you have mobs actually spawning inside your base (and not outside and wandering in) then you do not, in fact, have a proper lighting set up. Hostile mobs require a light level of 7 or lower, but it can be difficult to tell just by eyeballing it (as your brightness setting can give you a false sense of security). Since you say you're new to minecraft, you may not know that you can see the light level by hitting F3 in game, which gives you a ton of information. You should see, on the left side, at the end of a line, "RL: 9" or some other number, which gives you the light level of the block you're standing on. If it's 7 or less, mobs can spawn there.

One mistake I used to make was putting torches at the top of tall walls. Looks like everything's nicely lit, but the floor is not. Better to put torches no more than 3 blocks above the floor.

Stanekk

Jul 29, 2019
Another possibility to imptove lightning is the wrath lamp if you have some spare diamonds and iron =P

Shinrei186

Jul 29, 2019