Fireproofing flammable blocks

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

zuiko

Jul 29, 2019
Is there a way to prevent a flammable block from burning when the block is in close proximity to lava? I tried putting a water source block on top of the flammable block hoping it would put out the flames before it is destroyed or prevent the fire in the first place but it doesn't seem to work that way.

The reason I am wondering is I started playing with the Ampz pack and for some reason the copper wires are flagged as flammable (like bookshelves or wood), which is problematic for trying to keep heat generators (which must sit on lava source blocks) connected. The wires randomly burn.

netmc

Jul 29, 2019
you could encapsulate the wires in construction foam. Don't know if that will help or not, but CF does not burn.

YX33A

Jul 29, 2019
you could encapsulate the wires in construction foam. Don't know if that will help or not, but CF does not burn.
Ampz uses UE, not IC2, mate.
I'd suggest using a different type of wire if you can. Or, if you can only afford copper, make hidden copper wires, which IIRC don't burn. IIRC you can make those in Ampz. If you have Mekinsim I'd suggest looking into it's, uh, Universal Cable? Been a long time. Anyway it looks very fancy and shouldn't burn(not to mention should work with IC2 and BC3 as well as UE without a converter of some kind).

Reactions: PeggleFrank

RedBoss

Jul 29, 2019
Universal cable won't burn. Heat gens are very low power producers anyway to you probably will want to move on from them fairly quickly

Reactions: PhantomRage

PhantomRage

Jul 29, 2019
Yeah, they are burning up due to extreme voltages I believe (too many heat gens maybe? never understood how UE power worked). I usually just would upgrade to a better type of wire imo. Universal cables are great in terms of transfering any type of voltage power.

neiromaru

Jul 29, 2019