Failed to bind to port?

Jerakl

Jul 29, 2019
Hey guys, so I am a complete newb.
How can I get rid of failed to bind to port error?
It says maybe another server is running on that port?
how do I know for sure?
If there is another server running on my :25565 port how do I terminate it?
Or will I have to choose another port?
Thanks for your time, Jerakl
as said before complete newb to FTB

• What OS are you running? I am running Windows 7 ultimate
  • Are you using minecraft hosting provider or a dedicated/local server not designed for minecraft? No
  • What version of FTB are you using? Latest version.( I don't know specifics)
  • Did you add any mods to the server pack? no
  • What are your server specs? 1GB
  • A good detailed paragraph about the problem^

NumerousWaffles

Jul 29, 2019
not to patronize but make sure you've forwarded your 25565 port and make sure you don't have any other server running on that port such as another vanilla server

Greedseed

Jul 29, 2019
if you get that error, it means there is already running a minecraft server with the same port.
Go in you program manager and make sure all java aplications are closed, then start your server again

Jerakl

Jul 29, 2019
as said, complete newb,
I did that in my task manager but it still says the same thing.

Jerakl

Jul 29, 2019
Nope it gives me an error ( I tried 25595/25565)
It gives me a java.net.bindException : Cannot assign requested address : JVM_Bind
Maybe I need to try a different port?

Jerakl

Jul 29, 2019
Hmmmm I tried about 7 different ports, all the same error
The exception was: java.net.BindException: Cannot assign requested address: JVM_Bind
Perhaps a server is already running on that port?
It said that with 6 different ports

defakto

Jul 29, 2019
If you get this error after changing the port you have put the wrong IP address into the server.properties file.