Automatic mob farm with Turtles

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Servillo

Jul 29, 2019
I'm going to preface this topic with letting you know that I am a complete novice when it comes to programming. I've taken one class of C++, which thankfully translates fairly well to LUA. However, that means the extend of my knowledge with programming with turtles basically extends to loops, functions to keep things concise, and using the API's to the best of my abilities. I've learned how to use a couple of the slightly more complicated aspects (such as tArgs, if that counts as complex), but since I'm the only turtle programmer on our server, I don't use them in the name of user-friendliness.

That said, I would like to make a program that will let a turtle automatically kill mobs for me with a grinder, and to collect the EXP that drops. I know all the API functions I need to do this with, it's just a matter of getting it to work right. One thing I do know is that I've read that constant attack loops with a turtle, i.e.

while true do
turtle.attack()
end

Can cause lag or framerate issues overtime. In order to avoid that, I tried something like this

while true do
if redstone.getInput("front") then
turtle.attack()
end
end

I put a pressure plate in front of the turtle, and whenever something stands on it, the turtle will attack it. Very brute force, and not very elegant. Of course, I ran into the only natural thing; if the while loop goes too long without doing anything, the program terminates. I didn't expect anything different, this was just the starting step to make sure my thought process on this was working.

So now my only idea is to make the program temporary via a for loop, i.e.

for i=1 to ## do
if redstone.getInput("front") then
turtle.attack()
end
end