Automatic Door

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

CosmicThing2

Jul 29, 2019
I'm making a design which involves an automatic door, just wondering if anyone knew of a way in FTB whereby a sensor could detect a player within, lets say 6 blocks and send out a redstone signal to open an iron door nearby. It's probably something to do with ComputerCraft but I'm not very good at that ^^. I don't want the player to do anything in order for the door to open, therefore Misc Peripherals's Detector is not an option, I'd also rather not use the GregTech one as I don't have it installed and don't really want to install the whole mod just for that :S

If that's not possible then nevermind, just thought it might be a cool idea.

Reactions: budge

Chocorate

Jul 29, 2019
What about a tripwire or pressure plate that will activate a fuse of 2 seconds or however long it takes the player to traverse n distance?

Reactions: Math-Man

Exedra

Jul 29, 2019
I believe the thing you are looking for is called a "Pressure Plate" An, "Obsidian Pressure Plate" to be precise.

ff255away

Jul 29, 2019
Thaumcraft has a pressure plate that will only activate on a specific player's touch. Its doing something, but its the absolute minimal you can without gregtech or misc peripherals.

CosmicThing2

Jul 29, 2019
Didn't really want a pressure plate as it's not really automatic because the user has to then do something. Well nevermind, I'll think about putting gregtech in.

budge

Jul 29, 2019
It's a very handy tool. I had a wither combat arena set up made out of warded stone with an arcane door, and a forcefield projector that would activate as long as a player was in the arena, to add another layer of protection. The arcane door made it very convenient to enter and exit even while the forcefield was up.

Freakscar

Jul 29, 2019