AE2 - Multiple ME Drives in one system? (1.7.10)

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

icecorerulez

Jul 29, 2019
Hey guys,
Im a complete noob in AE2 and im setting up my first ME system right now.
What i know so far: The items (liquids etc.) are stored on discs in the ME Drive.
What i want to know - is it possible to hook up more than one Drive at one system?
Ty for answers :)

(sry for my english, after years it isnt the best.)

Bibble

Jul 29, 2019
Simply put, yes.

There are limits to the number of devices you can have in a system (I think 8 without a controller, and then it's limited to the connections to the controller), but, as far as I can tell, all the devices can be interchangable, you could have 8 ME drives as a system, you just wouldn't be able to actually DO anything.

icecorerulez

Jul 29, 2019
Simply put, yes.

There are limits to the number of devices you can have in a system (I think 8 without a controller, and then it's limited to the connections to the controller), but, as far as I can tell, all the devices can be interchangable, you could have 8 ME drives as a system, you just wouldn't be able to actually DO anything.

Thanks! Everything else in AE2 is a bit more complicated (im still at the storage disks :D), so i thought it wouldnt be that simple.

Bibble

Jul 29, 2019
Thanks! Everything else in AE2 is a bit more complicated (im still at the storage disks :D), so i thought it wouldnt be that simple.
It's actually remarkably simple, and plug-and-play once you get your head around the concept, but that can be the tricky part.

As I said, the limitations are going to be the cables (normal, dense, etc.), which havle limits to how many devices they can connect to.

GreenZombie

Jul 29, 2019
For simple systems AE2 is actually simpler as you don't need a controller.