[AE] How to prioritize items in one form?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

PoisonWolf

Jul 29, 2019
Hi guys,

I finally crafted my first 3x3x3 assembly chamber...and I'm loving it! Having said that, to reduce space storage, I was wondering how would I go about keeping my materials in their block forms, if possible, as opposed to me manually doing it? For example, to always convert iron into iron blocks if possible, and only when I need iron will it convert them back into regular iron.

I'm still very new to AE thus the seemingly simple question.

EDIT: Since I'm making a post, I figured I'd ask two more questions as well.
a) Are there any renewable ways to get quartz? Bees don't seem to be the answer (dang).

Adonis0

Jul 29, 2019
Well, it's possible to make a crafting recipe 9 iron = 1 iron block, then get a precision/fuzzy export bus, point it an ME interface, and have it export with craft only.

What this does is make the ME system craft the item so it can be exported, and then it exports it directly into a ME interface, which sucks the item back into your ME system.

The only problem I can think of this is the automatic conversion back again may clash with any automatic smelting that you may have
As you're not able to have two recipes in your system for iron ingots, you can't get your system to use patterns to smelt on demand and convert blocks back on demand too

(you'd be able to make iron ingots using export buses constantly though)[DOUBLEPOST=1379032426][/DOUBLEPOST]To your second part about renewable ways to get quartz.. Not that I know of, but automatic mining methods are pretty good at gathering enough.

The thing with Quartz is you need a lot originally, but as you get into things you don't need as much. And you can cut costs in places as well, because there is no need for 64k drives with everything. 4k drives with 64k drives for select things

PoisonWolf

Jul 29, 2019