60% of top threads are now spam.

Omicron

Jul 29, 2019
Here's a candid screenshot: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/44754370/spambots.png
Taken on Monday the 15th of September, 07:40 UTC.

Of the top 15 threads (below the stickies) in General FTB Discussion, 9 are advertising threads. That is no longer "sorry for the occasional spam post", this is "a solid 60% of our content is spam". This number is rising daily. Whatever you're doing against it, it appears to not be working. At all.

I wish I could offer suggestions, but I have no experience administrating forum software. =/

ratchet freak

Nov 11, 2012
Problem is that those spam bots are designed to circumvent the filters in this forum, and they frankly don't care about whether people click link, they just care about plugging it so web crawlers pick it up

One suggestion is getting more mods able to handle the downtime of the others

another is having the first few posts of each new user be audited to minimize exposure

Omicron

Jul 29, 2019
More moderators to squash the spam is treating the symptoms, not the illness.

The forum needs an adequate, effective measure to prevent automated registration. Most forums on the net succeed in doing so, including other large gaming communities. The problem here is that the spammers have sussed out and automated the login procedure of the FTB forums like Direwolf20 automates charcoal production. Unless the login procedure is changed and locked down, you will not be able to defeat an automated spamscript no matter the number of moderators you employ. The machine is always faster, and never gets tired nor bored.

Reactions: Wagon153

HeilMewTwo

Jul 29, 2019
I actually saw one last week that had an avatar. We may be getting spammed even more by smarter ones soon.

bounding star

Jul 29, 2019