[1.6.4] Tier-based modpack - Looking for TESTERS!

Elvanos

Jul 29, 2019
Hello everyone!

I am currently working on a tier-based modpack for 1.6.4 and I need a couple people to help me test it!

Now, you may be wondering what a “tier-based modpack” means. Let me give you an example:

When I started playing MC and most importantly FTB, I found all those awesome and wonderful mods, but I always had a problem with them: They felt REALLY imbalanced and certain mods felt either conflicting with others or simply making stuff too easy, offering same goodies for 1/10 of the prize.

I was overjoyed when I found good old 1.4.7 Mindcrack, which had my idea of progression, but even then, there were a couple things that were ticking me off *cough* traincraft steel *cough*. I have been wondering how one could create a similar modpack to the masterpiece called Mindcrack – and perhaps outdo it!

Then I found Minetweaker – a WONDERFULL mod that allows user or dev to rebuild all kinds of recipes ingame. Since that discovery I started to put together my dream modpack featuring a tier based progression system for the mods as I am able to mess with the recipes now!

Now, you may be getting an idea what I want to do with the modpack as a whole, but you may still be lost on the whole tier-based mechanic. Let me explain:

The idea is to offer the player a feeling of progression, offering more and more powerful technologies/magical discoveries/utilities as he progresses further in the tech tree.

Example:

Tier one – Basic processing and utilities (eg: Thermal expansion + Extra Utilities + Ars Magica)

Tier break – Something to give the player a feeling he is getting somewhere (eg: Railcraft steel + Steam)

Tier two – Advanced magic and processing + utilities (eg: Thaumcraft + Mekanism)

All recipes in those mods will be connected together using Minetweaker to create a very fluid structure that requires the player to advanced through the tech trees in order to get to higher tiers.