Lets talk about mod support

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Wagon153

Jul 29, 2019
I saw a comment on reddit about Electrical Age not having enough "mod support"(inability to convert RF to Electrical Age power.). I will not be linking to the thread or user, since that is a d move. However, I will be talking about my view on mod support(specifically, RF.)

RF is great, to start off with. It's low lag, simple for modders to hook into, and is used by many mods. But! It doesn't work for all concepts. Lets take Rotary Craft shaft power, okay? You've got three numbers going on. Speed, Torque, and Power. That is how the balance works. Math. Now, I am not a coder, but I can't see how you would accomplish this with the single power unit that is RF. I understand that modders can make RF have things like loss, but RF would not work in this scenario.

Okay, we've accomplished some modders CAN'T use RF as their power system, so they make their own system. Then somebody comes along and asks "Can you add RF support?" Fine, you can make a machine to convert to RF from your power without wrecking balance. Nope, not good enough. Now you are pressured into making a machine to convert to your power from RF. This poses the problems presented above. Balance! Suddenly, people are bypassing completely the unique power system you put hours and days of work into. Do you realize how insulting that can be to the mod author? So, then you try to balance the converter(see Rotary Craft magnetostatics.) And then the community whines about it, finds a way around the balancing, and starts to abuse it even more. More balancing follows, then you alienate the people who were using the converter to just make movement of your power system over long distances easier, but still use your generators.