Can Mining Turtles Resume When Logging Back In?

• Please make sure you are posting in the correct place. Server ads go here and modpack bugs go here

Danwatson

Jul 29, 2019
When logging back in Feed The Beast after time spent away my mining turtles seem to always stop mining and grind to a halt. When accessed I am given a screen that shows the turtle version but nothing else, the turtle just stops. My question to you is there any way to allow the turtle to continue to resume it's mining when logging back in or will I just have to keep moving it's collection chest and restart the program?

Bibble

Jul 29, 2019
On SSP, no. The machines reset on reload. If they're chunk loaded on a server, then all is well. There are also some auto-resume mining programs out there

Hitmaniac

Jul 29, 2019
I am no computercraft expert but I believe you write the code in /edit startup. When you do that, it will start up whenever you enter the world. I might be completely incorrect.

MilConDoin

Jul 29, 2019
With the default excavate program, you cannot have restart-resistant turtles.
They'll need some method to inform themselves on restart what they need to do. Examples include saving initial parameters (size, position) and after each step where it currently is and what it's next action will be. Or add some GPS compatibility to that.

Neirin

Jul 29, 2019
I spotted a program on the ComputerCraft forums that advertised restart-resistant mining. I haven't tried it, but maybe that'll help.

Silent

Jul 29, 2019
Writing your own programs is the whole fun of cc

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Poppycocks

Jul 29, 2019
I'm not, I can't code and it would be nice if someone could come up with something like this, it would just help a little. It's not compulsory.
Lua is very simple, if you want to play with turtles, then I suggest you to go and try it out :). It's fun. The resources are plentiful. You shouldn't have much trouble.

Dreossk

Jul 29, 2019